Check out our reviews from HomeAway/VRBO.   See the originals here.

Carlin G.
Date of Stay – April 2018
WONDERFUL!!!
Larry and Maria were great people to rent from! They were so attentive and the house was SOOO nice and stocked with everything you could possibly need. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again when on the big island!

Thanks to both of you!!

Will C.

Date of Stay - Mar 23, 2018

Simply amazing - top notch property and hosts!

Maria and Larry are amazing owners and hosts. We have stayed in many VRBO/HomeAway properties in Hawaii and around the world, and this is one of the most well-run and organized properties out there. From our initial inquiry to on-site questions, Maria and Larry are attentive, responsive and provide exceptional service. Booking instructions, check-in/out instructions, and details of the home are very clearly laid out for the utmost enjoyment of our stay.

The home is exceptional. Super clean. High quality furnishings and bedding for a great restful holiday. High end appliances, Weber grill and fully stocked kitchen to satisfy the most optimistic of chefs and even bakers on vacation. This home has all the dishware, utensils and cookware ever needed.

There is also a fully stocked garage! Huge bonus for our family - BIKES for adults and children! We made usage of the bikes to explore Mauna Lani, quick trips to Foodland, and they made for an easy ride down to the Fairmont to attend a conference.

How about beach stuff? Boogie boards for adults and children. Sand toys, snorkel gear for adults and children, beach chairs, cooler, mats and the ever-important Tommy Bahama beach umbrella. All the ingredients for an amazing day at Hāpuna Beach just up the road, or at any of the other great beaches on the island. Leave your own toys and gear at home and save some room in your luggage to bring home your Kona Coffee, Big Island Candies and Macadamia nuts!

The KaMilo property is fantastic. Very clean and tidy landscaping. Pool complex is great for all ages. Not crazy busy, even during Canadian spring break. The gym was also well-kept and adequate.

We would definitely recommend this property to friends and family who intend on visiting the Big Island. If and when we return, I will be contacting Maria to stay in her home again.

Mahalo Maria and Larry!

Alice T.
Date of Stay – Mar 7, 2018
Impeccable home and resort
The house is beautifully designed and finished, with a very well-stocked kitchen and wonderful recreational supplies (e.g. snorkeling, boogie board). I wish we had the time and ability to use their bikes and surfboards. Next time! The resort itself is beautiful (two pools, hot tubs). Wonderful house.

 

eileen t.
Date of Stay – Feb 25, 2018
Beautiful well kept home
Well equipped…well kept…nice layout and nice outside

 

Judy B.
Date of Stay – Jan 26, 2018
wonderful home, great location
Everything you could need was provided including some thoughtful extras. Worth every penny.

 

Lynn P.
Date of Stay – Jan 9, 2018
Fantastic vacation home
We enjoyed 2 weeks at this beautiful vacation home. Home is exactly right! It has every imaginable amenity. We cooked and ate in quite a bit and felt perfectly comfortable. Part of an amazing resort community, we were minutes away from the pool, beach, golf, dining and shopping. It didn't feel isolated at all and yet we enjoyed privacy. Our 1 year old grandson was equipped with a clean bed and highchair in excellent condition. Maria and Larry were thoughtful hosts and quick to respond to our questions. Can we rate this 5star+?

Andrew G.

Date of Stay - Nov 18, 2017

Immaculate

This house was spotless and equipped with everything you need. Great location with all amenities needed for the beach Yes we would recommend and would rent again.

Chad M.

Date of Stay - Nov 5, 2017

Family Vacation

Beautiful home and very attentive owners. We were a family of four and this home had everything we needed. We used all of the beach gear. Located in walking distance to the pool. We cooked in the home each day. Highly recommend it. The community is very quiet and easy to get to the other nearby resort.

Emily H.

Date of Stay - Aug 31, 2017

Wonderful home. Great Big Island experience!

This was our first time on Hawaii Island and this home made a great base for our short vacation. The owners are attentive, responsive and care and it really shows. The home is very comfortable with a very nice ambience and had everything we wanted. The location was peaceful and secluded. Another reviewer mentioned the bath towels. I haven’t stayed at the Fairmont so can’t compare, but yes they are really nice. We were happy to be in Kamilo as well. The pool and fitness center was walking distance from the condo and the private beach club was a short ride away. There are some good restaurants at the nearby hotels and shopping center. We really enjoyed watching the sunset from the beach side bar at the Fairmont. From the resort we were able to get to all the places we wanted to go on the island - Pu'uhonua O Honaunau Park, Volcano National Park and we joined the free stargazing at the Mauna Kea visitor’s center. We didn’t want to leave but we’ll be back!

Carol E.

Date of Stay - May 13, 2017

Super home, great location!

My husband and I came with friends. We were all glad we chose this unit. The place is even better than the photos show. Easily the best-kept place we’ve ever stayed in. The owners were very responsive and helpful from the beginning. We spent several days going to different beaches and touring the island. The beach chairs, towels, cooler and snorkel kits were all clean and in good shape. Also happy to have several good restaurants nearby. We enjoyed dining at Brown’s at the Fairmont and the Canoe House at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel. We especially liked Pueo’s in Waikoloa Village which was a short drive away.

 

 

Mandar S. 

Date of Stay - Apr 21, 2017

Really enjoyable stay; thank you for a memorable spring break!

Home was perfect for our family of four; the location, amenities, wifi, cable access, the patio, etc. were all just as homely one could feel. Our 4 year old felt at home enough to suggest that we never go back to our real home. We loved everything and Maria/Larry were always gracious to answer all of our questions. The thoughtfulness of stuff left in the garage is really awesome - from beach bags, to lounge chairs, to carpets, it made life very easy for us and keeping the car in the garage was really useful (cars get hot outside). We eventually went and shopped for a home at KaMilo and might become a neighbor (we will see). Thank you Larry and Maria for the detail, and for the immediate response to any question.

 

SVM

Date of Stay - April 17, 2017

Fabulous vacation rental

Staying at this home was a highlight of our Hawaiian vacation. Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teens) had ample room and were very comfortable in this beautifully furnished house. So many amenities made our trip even more enjoyable such as high-end kitchen appliances and tools, very nice lanai furniture, luxurious bathrooms, and quality beach gear (umbrella, cooler, chairs, etc.). The location was a good proximity to beaches and shopping. The owners were very helpful and responsive to questions we had prior to and during our trip. Highly recommend!

 

Family on the go said……

Date of Stay - April 15, 2017

OUTSTANDING HOME IN EVERYWAY!

First off I have to tell you that my husband and I have been bringing our family to the Big Island for over twenty years. We have stayed at various locations in the area, but really love Ka Milo. The location of this unit is perfect - close to beaches, shops, hotels and restaurants. The unit is beautifully decorated with nice furniture and paintings. What appealed to my family the most was the fact that this unit was by far the cleanest and most organized place we have every stayed at. It also was very quiet and peaceful. The owners have put in a lot of time and energy in everything and it shows.

Christine

Date of Stay - April 9, 2017

Gorgeous home, would highly recommend!

We recently stayed here for a week with our 3 children and this house is just as beautiful and luxurious as it looks in photos. The house was equipped with everything we needed including snorkeling gear, boogie boards and sand toys for the kids. We loved the location! So convenient to a variety of beautiful beaches and loved the fact that it sits on the Mauna Lani property so we could easily go to any of the restaurants when we wanted. Larry and Maria are responsive hosts and provided clear details on the house. We would highly recommend this house to friends and family and hope to go back soon for another holiday! MAHALO!

 

 

Ellen M.

Date of Stay - Mar 18, 2017

Perfect base from which to explore the Big Island

We had a fabulous time in Hawaii. This house was the perfect base from which to explore the Big Island. It worked really well for my husband, me and our 3 teenage children. The house was impeccable, exactly as described, with all of the beach toys that we needed. We can't wait to come back!

 

Mimi S.

Date of Stay - Jan 29, 2017

Perfect Stay!

xceptional place. Larry and Maria are truly gracious hosts, from the communication prior to our stay, to the thoughtful welcome basket and card, and the follow up after our departure, they really made us feel welcome. The home is exactly as shown in the photos. My husband and I stayed here for 5 days with our 4 year old son and the home is perfect for kids with every child friendly amenity you can think of. We only used the communal pool once as the water temperatures were quite cold and the lap pool was under repair and unavailable. The beach is fantastic and very safe for families with kids. Having stayed at the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai for 10 days prior, we wanted a change of scenery and had high expectations. Larry and Maria's home did not disappoint.

 

Glenn

Date of Stay - Jun 29, 2016

Extra Nice

Hale Manawale'a is exactly as advertised, gorgeous and wonderfully equipped. The owners have thought through the needs of their guest. Its the extra touches that make this rental special. Here are a few examples. All the bathrooms have an ample supply extra plush towels, (much nicer than the Fairmont's). The beach equipment and toys (beach towels, folding chairs, umbrellas, mats, boogie boards) are in great shape and not just someones leftovers. There are a number of rechargeable flashlights around the house which are a necessity if you're going to explore Kilauea at night. There's a first aid kit which came very handy to treat blisters from too much golf and snorkeling. The private Beach Club (or Black Sand beach) is a great place for people of all ages to spend the day. Hale Manawale'a is great.

 

Kevin C. 

Date of Stay - Jun 14, 2016

Comfortable, Well-Furnished, Excellent Rental

It’s hard to overstate how wonderful our accommodations were at Hale Manawale’a. Larry and Maria seemingly have gone to great lengths to see that everything one could want or need in a vacation rental has been thought of and accounted for. The house has a wonderful open floor plan and the rooms are accurately represented in the photos. Upon arrival we found it to be very clean and in top condition. Our party of 6 (4 adults, 2 children) were quite comfortable throughout what was a very enjoyable stay. The community pool/ fitness facility and the Beach Club access were bonuses that we definitely put to good use. We would happily stay here again when we return to the Big Island.

 

Urs K. 

Date of Stay - May 4, 2016

As comfortable as our home!

Just returned from our stay at KaMilo and have only good things to say about the Home! From the moment we walked in the door we knew that this place would not disappoint as so many have before. Everything was 5* and the most important was of course the bedding. When you are on the road for 6 months every year you realize how important sleep is. I have to say that we slept the best while staying at KaMilo. Over three months of traveling and staying in 5 star hotels this was heaven. Unfortunately we were not so lucky on our way back to Maui. We reserved a condo for 9 nights and had to move out after three. I don't understand why so many pictures of the homes advertised are really not reality. KaMilo provided more than advertised and hopefully we have the choice to come back in the future. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home 

 

 

Trisha R.

Date of Stay - Mar 20, 2016

Comfortable living near incredible beaches and numerous amenities

We are a family of five - two parents with three children ages 16, 14, and 10. We were on the Big Island last year in a condo in the Waikoloa Resort area and had noticed the Mauna Lani Resort on our way to Hapuna Beach one day. We took some time to explore it and were impressed. This year, we decided to upgrade from a condo to a house. We didn't regret it! This house is not only beautiful, but it is well-equipped, centrally located, and altogether comfortable. If we are lucky enough to go to Hawaii again, we'll definitely stay here! Maria always provided excellent customer service. She responded quickly to any correspondence and was always helpful. The house is quite new and is finished luxuriously. The listing was accurate - we got exactly what we expected. We enjoyed the two pools, and my daughters and I made use of the gym. It is nicely equipped. We participated in yoga classes at the Shops at Mauna Lani and enjoyed them immensely. I appreciated the detailed arrival and departure notes provided to us by the owners. They made the midnight arrival as smooth as possible, and when preparing for departure we knew exactly what was expected of us.

 

 

Kathy W

Date of Stay - Mar 14, 2016

Beautiful home, gracious owners

Maria was the best owner we have ever rented from. She was extremely proactive prior to our arrival and upon arrival. Everything we could possibly need was at the home. Fully stocked kitchen, even more so than my own home! Perfect space for families. Each bedroom has its own large bathroom. The outdoor spaces around the home were beautiful and relaxing. The lanai in the backyard was used multiple times a day, very private, well groomed landscaping, with great seating options. The front of the home has a private feel as well. There is a hammock that we enjoyed lounging in each day as the sun set. The pool is in very close proximity to the pool for a short walk, but not close enough to hear people playing at the pool. The pool is in a beautifully enclosed area that also has a covered eating area with bbq grills, a great green space and the workout center. The pictures do not do this area justice, it is luxurious and beautiful. Hard to capture the beauty in a single photographic shot. The resort area the home is located in is a great location close to amazing beach fronts. The best white sand beach we visited on the Big Island was the Mauni Kea Beach Resort which you are given access to from this home. There is a local grocery store very close to the home so you can stock up on items you need for your stay. We will absolutely stay at this property again if we ever have the opportunity to come back to the Big Island. Thank you Maria for being such a gracious host!

 

Craig W. 

Date of Stay - Mar 4, 2016

Beautifully furnished and wonderfully equipped. Very comfortable for a small family!

Larry and Maria's property exceeded our expectations. The pictures gave us an idea of what to expect, but when we arrived we were even more blown away. It's obvious the pride these two take in their home-away-from-home, evidenced by how well it's furnished and decorated, and the little things such as how the kitchen is so well equipped. We cooked most meals here, and didn't want for any appliance or utensil! Larry and Maria were very approachable, touching base ahead of time by both e-mail and text, and made sure we were settled and comfortable throughout or stay. We'd certainly be interested in spending more time here if and when we return to the Big Island!

Tina Y.

Date of Stay - Dec 25, 2015

This rental is exceptional

Our family of 5 stayed here over the winter holidays. The cottage is a good layout - the living area is large and spacious and the bedrooms have good privacy. The furnishings are of very high quality including beautiful artwork on the walls. It feels like a real home rather than a generic rental. The condo was well equipped with everything you would need for a comfortable stay, from a well-stocked kitchen to items for a day at the beach (Love the mats for sitting on the sand! Chairs, umbrella, cooler, and beach towels also provided). Thoughtful touches were everywhere - there were ziplock bags for your kids' snacks to a great snorkeling guidebook I'd never seen before. A relaxing hammock in the front beckons for stargazing. The only thing I missed was a view from the lanai - however the garden is lush and the patio is an inviting spot for an outdoor meal. The garage was a tight fit for our large SUV. The swimming pool for the complex is one of the nicest we've seen. The owner, Maria, was very welcoming and also helpful when we had an issue with the front gate. Highly recommend this rental if you wish to stay in the Mauna Lani resort area.

 

Lisa E. 

Date of Stay - Nov 24, 2015

This is THE spot!

We spent 10 days over Thanksgiving at this lovely well appointed home and enjoyed ourselves very much! The kitchen is very well equipped. Anything you could want is available, and all new and high quality. Cooking is a joy in this kitchen. There is a bathroom for each bedroom. Plenty of towels and beach towels are provided. Their Boogie boards, beach chairs and cooler come in handy when you head to the private beach club that has a beautiful view and a great restaurant. The TV in the great room is HUGE, and each bedroom has a small flat screen tv as well. The owners provide lots of fun board games. The furniture is comfortable, but we were wishing the love seats were larger sofas.( Not quite enough comfortable seating for our party) but we still enjoyed the home immensely. The outdoor dining set up is wonderful, and there is a nice big barbecue. The owners provide everything you need to do your laundry in their large washer and dryer. We rented a 4 person resort cart and cruised to and from the beach club, golf course, and even the grocery store. Their one and only grocery store is great! Fresh sushi every day and anything you need is available at Foodland Farms. We love this home, their pool is great and we spent a lot of time there with our small children. There is even a hammock in the grassy courtyard just outside the front door. We will stay here again!

 

Anonymous 

Date of Stay - Nov 23, 2015

Hawaiian Family Vacation!

Let me begin by stating how BEAUTIFUL this home is. The pictures don't do it justice. The furniture and décor are lovely. The house was sparkling clean when we arrived. Everything you could imagine needing was already provided - from kitchen utensils, dishware, appliances, paper products, beach towels, board games, etc. We immediately felt at home upon arrival. The wide open floor plan perfectly accommodated our family, as it was my Husband and I in the Master, his parents in one guest room, and our two boys (ages 8 & 5) in the bed room with two twin beds. The boys thought having their own TV was pretty spectacular as well. Each bedroom having it's own bathroom was such a nice touch. All of the beds were very comfortable, with high quality bedding. The location is very convenient - a short walk or drive will bring you to the local grocery store, wonderful restaurants such as Ruth Chris and Tommy Bahamas. You gain access to the private Mauna Lani Beach Club which has a fun bar/restaurant as well. We especially loved the beach at Mauna Kea - a short drive away from Kamilo. The owners could not have been more helpful, accommodating, and kind. We look forward to our next Hawaiian vacation and will most definitely stay here again.

 

BillBob

Date of Stay - Oct 23, 2015

Perfection on The Big Island

We spent a week at this well-appointed home the last week of October, 2015. We divided our time between site seeing (Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Sunset and star gazing on Mauna Kea, Akaka Falls, Puʻuhonua o Honaunau and it’s amazing snorkeling, and the vistas at Waipiʻo Valley) and relaxing at the resort’s private beach, where we snorkeled (rent you equipment at Snorkel Bob’s at the local shopping center) and learned to paddleboard (rentals right on the beach). There is an excellent organic grocery store within the resort, or you can elect to drive into Hilo for less-expensive shopping at Costco. If you make that drive, and are a coffee drinker, we recommend sampling the Kona coffee at Greenwell Farms. Being within a resort, the property includes access to a large common area with a workout facility, a lap pool, and a second, very large pool for relaxing and sunbathing. The home itself includes a large living area with a full kitchen, flanked by three bedrooms (each with its own bath). The setup is ideal for families or couples travelling to the big island. If you are interested in a 3-bedroom home located in an exclusive resort on the dry side of Hawaii at the same price as a single room resort hotel, then this property is for you. Bottom line: 5 STARS out of 5 – perfect!

Sandra g.

Date of Stay - Oct 15, 2015

A dream Oasis

Pictures do not due this resort justice! Even more beautiful in person. It was a really relaxing expirence, a short drive to the private beach was awesome. I write this review a year later but it was truly an unforgettable expirence. The home was fully equipped and The owners made the process to check in so easy. We traveled with a 1yr old and we didn't have to take very much because they had everything we needed play pen, high chair, and kid dishes. They also had all the things you need for the beach however I would rcommend if you are into snorkeling that you bring your own and one for everyone or you will be sharing. Just everything was on point we will definately book again.

 

June 

Date of Stay - Aug 14, 2015

Amazing stay on the Big Island

My first time on the Big Island and I couldn't be happier with my stay here at Hale Manawale'a! What a beautifully decorated and extraordinarily well-appointed home. I was immediately struck by the lovely local art work and high quality furnishings, and everything was sparkling clean. I loved the open and spacious main living area, beautiful bathrooms, comfortable beds, and you couldn't ask for a better equipped kitchen (electric tea kettle, salad spinner - I don't even have some of these things in my own home!). It was a convenient base from which to take day trips in different directions, but one of my favorite activities was just snorkeling down at the private beach - wow, even saw a sea turtle!! Island Gourmet at the Queen Shops was a quick ride away to pick up groceries, including nice fresh fish that we cooked on the grill. The owner was very nice and accommodating and did everything possible to make this a pleasant stay. Oh, and most importantly for light sleepers, it was very private and quiet! Can't wait to come back and would definitely stay here again.

Denise R. 

Date of Stay - Jul 31, 2015

Fantastic Beach Home

Hale Manawale is an easy home to recommend. We stayed there with our three children in August, and this lovely home was perfect for our family. It is very well maintained and beautifully furnished. The beds are comfortable, the linens are high quality, and the kitchen is fully stocked. The beach accessories are a nice touch as well! The owners are very easy to work with, well organized, and responded to questions very quickly. The private beach is a great snorkel spot and the calm water is great for kids. The Ka Milo pools and recreation center is great too. The whole experience was seamless--we will be back!

 

Teri L.

Date of Stay - Jul 23, 2015

Great Vacation.

This is a five star accommodation! We were impressed with the lovely decor and completely furnished kitchen. Hale Manawale's suited our needs perfectly. We enjoyed the beautiful landscaping and pool that was a short walk away. The private beach was great for snorkeling and Hale Manawale'a had beach gear that made everything so easy. We were also appreciative of the crib, highchair and children's dinnerware that my grandson could use. Maria the owner was easy to work with and available for questions. I would highly recommend this venue. It was a great family vacation.

 

P & L 

Date of Stay - Jul 3, 2015

Terrific Home

We stayed at Hale Manawale'a for two weeks with our 17 and 20 year old children. This home is well maintained with top of the line finishing, furnishings and appliances. We have rented many VRBO accomodations and this one is by far the best stocked of any we have experienced. The owners have thought of everything one might require or wish they had from kitchen gadgets to beach accessories. The Mauna Lani Resort is beautiful and we especially enjoyed the private beach. The location is very good for exploring the island. Maria the owner was excellent to deal with. She responded promptly, provided us with helpful island tourist information and seemed genuinely interested that we have a great vacation. Hale Manawale'a felt like home and none of us wanted to leave. Hope we can return again.

 

TK 

Date of Stay - May 26, 2015

Hale Manawale’a - Heavenly!

We had a wonderful 4 day experience at Hale Manawale’a! The accommodations were plush. All needs and amenities were accounted for. Between the property's excellent condition and the location, anyone's stay on the Kohala coast would only be enhanced by staying here! Would come back tomorrow if we could!

Big Island tourist

Date of Stay - Apr 6, 2015

Great Big Island stay

My wife and kids (toddlers and a teen) stayed in this stand-alone one-level condo home for nine days. Very comfortable and plush new furnishings. Home stocked with all the things you could possibly need. Comfortably sleeps six. Beautiful view out back lanai up Mauna Kea. Grass lanai with hammock in front (shared with two other homes) is nice and welcoming. Very short walk to pools. Easy walk to petroglyphs park and Fairmont Orchid. Also easy drive to variety of terrific beaches. Owners very pleasant and helpful (e.g., promptly sorted out technical glitch with television/DVD). One minor disappointment was ongoing construction of new units across the street and down the lane -- but construction workers seem to work hard to keep noise to minimum.

Farrah L.

Date of Stay - Mar 27, 2015

Wonderful Vacation Home

My husband, 8 year old daughter, and I stayed in this home for a week at the end of March, beginning of April. The home is absolutely beautiful, and my husband and I marveled at how well appointed it is. The owners have thought of everything a vacationing family might need and they have provided it. During our stay, we walked to the beach near the Fairmont from KaMilo twice, spent a number of days at the Mauna Lani Beach Club beach, and enjoyed an afternoon at the black sand beach (all located in Mauna Lani)! Maria, the owner, was easy to work with, attentive, and helpful from the moment I contacted her about renting her home to the moment we boarded the airplane to head home. She definitely offers a superior level of customer service. We highly recommend this vacation property!

SECURE PAYMENT:

TEL:  (408)431-6301

E-MAIL: halemanawalea@gmail.com

© 2017 by Hale Manawale'a  

  • Facebook Clean